Ever thought of videoing a lesson?

During the holidays I came across this video on the Teaching and Learning in South Australia You Tube Channel. The video shows how a teacher has used video to help her evaluate her teaching practice. It struck a chord with me making me realise that while others have seen me teach I have never seen myself teach and that perhaps I should.

I know that listening back to myself speak has in the past been a powerful reminder to me how much I use the word “um”. In the video I did explaining how to use Clickview Online (posted on here last term) I said the word “um” on average every 8 seconds. It was so bad that I edited it out before posting it. If listening to a recording of how I speak allows me to easily pick up something like saying the word “um” repeatedly then I wonder how powerful it might be to record my lessons and then use that video to self reflect on my teaching?

My intention is to video some of my own lessons in the near future and see if I am able to get useful feedback about my teaching by watching myself teach. I would like to post and share what I find as a follow up to this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar