National Professional Standards for Teachers were officially released February 2011.
Click here to visit the AITSL website.

Click here to watch an animated video explaining The National Professional Standards for Teachers.

1. Professional Knowledge

Standard 1: Know students and how they learn

Standard 2: Know the content and how to teach it

2. Professional Practice

Standard 3: Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning

Standard 4: Create and maintain supportive and safe learning environments

Standard 5: Assess, provide feedback and report on student learning

3. Professional Engagement

Standard 6: Engage with professional learning

Standard 7: Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community

Illustrations of practice – view videos and documents showing teaching at Graduate, Proficient, Highly Accomplished and Lead levels of teaching.

Teacher Toolkit – Coaching and Mentoring, Professional Learning, The Standards, Self Assessment and Reflection and Performance and Development.

Resources – Unpacking the Standards. Documents and videos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *